Divertimento for Strings
for String Orchestra (1991 rev. 2022)
by Ron Hannah

Duration: about 9 minutes


Here is a three-movement expressive piece for string orchestra, requiring skilled and spirited players. It is in a freely tonal and
dissonantly accessible style, typical of my writing.
The first movement is a joyous Dance with an introspective middle section.

The second, the one of which I am most proud, a sustained and lyrical, even sultry, Andante which builds to a striking climax, much in the manner of Bartok's Music for Strings, Percussion and Celeste the first movement of which has haunted me always.

The third is a tricky set of Sequences (and sequences within sequences), in a quick 5/4 rhythm. It has drive, though it should not be played too fast as it presses inexorably to its powerful conclusion. The string orchestra can be a potent medium indeed!

     It has been performed a few times, however recordings are not very good. I can offer however, a quite decent MIDI version (see box at right) and will even offer you a sampling of the full score (see box above). So if you are up to a challenge (and a rewarding one) and would like to obtain the parts, please send me an email, or contact the Canadian Music Centre. My only requirement is that if you decide to perform this piece, that you inform me by email so that I can keep this website up-to-date.